Connecting dots for digital learning and teaching

Christmas Break At Last


by Aggie Garfield, a high school sophomore in Texas

I waited for an eternity for this break. Waited months for the chance to properly catch my breath. Counted days to the night when I can finally fall asleep and know that I won’t have to get up until I wanted to. Ticked off the seconds to the last bell where I no longer had to worry about anything.

And when the moment I couldn’t wait to arrive arrived, I knew instantly that it will be over in the blink of an eye, and before I even got to catch up to my sleep cycles, I’d be back in the homework, the projects, the tests, and the sleepy sleeplessness.

I once read somewhere that life was one deadline after another. This is true. Too true. When Christmas break is over, we start waiting for spring break to come. Spring break ends, and you look forward to summer. And when summer comes, you’ll pull out your big calender, and begin marking off the days to the beginning of school. This seems sad and cyclical to me. It’s hard to savor moments when you’re preparing for the next test. It’s hard to laugh with your friends when you have everything that is to come weighing on your mind. It’s bloody difficult to enjoy life when all you’re looking forward to is the next assignment, the next job, the next deadline.

Unless, of course, you choose to break the cycle. Stop going by the rules. Live like you want to. Kids think this will be easier once they’re out of school. I wouldn’t know, as I’m still in high school, but I highly doubt it. Adults do have to work. And what happens when you have kids? Your life starts revolving around your kids’, and it’s back into the cycle you go. It has to be a conscious decision, a deliberate choice of action–for example, reading on a school night. Not waiting until break to work on the arts and craft project you wanted to do. I think it sucks that some kids put school as their first priority, the thing that had to be done before everything else. That’s stupid. It’s your life. You know what you want to do, and while I don’t know what you want to do, I highly doubt that it’s APUSH (note: it’s AP US History) homework, or algebra worksheets. Parents, stop telling kids that they can start pursuing their hobbies when they graduate….

(continue to read the full post : Christmas Break At Last)

youth voice

Author Bio.

Aggie Garfield is a high school sophomore in Texas. This is her blog : Incoherent Ramblings of an Insignificant Person.

Editor’s note

If you are a student, what’s your thought about Aggie’s post? If you are an educator or an education policy decision maker, what comments will you give to it? Please leave your words on her blog. Thanks.

Tagged as:

Your thoughts?

“Tell me and I will forget, show me and I may remember, involve me and I will understand.” -------- Chinese Wisdom "Games are the most elevated form of investigation." -------- Albert Einstein
"I'm calling for investments in educational technology that will help create digital tutors that are as effective as personal tutors, educational software as compelling as the best video game," President Barack Obama said while touring a tech-focused Boston school (year 2011).
