Connecting dots for digital learning and teaching


I don’t know if any of the avatars will seize the quest and run with it. They do stay pretty busy with philosophy-based mission quests (e.g., understanding and examining the social and political perspectives of “giants” like Aristotle, Mencius, Mill, Locke, Rousseau, Plato, and Rawls – which will take us through Mission 3 of 5); with the Explorer Profession for examining ideas and opportunities in Jane McGonigal’s Reality Is Broken and later in our alternative reality game, “Poverty Is Not a Game”; and with the development of their individual secondary professions. But I think several will. We’ll see.

Educating Lotus

I arrived near the Jade Forest the day after World of Warcraft (WoW) launched its latest expansion, Mists of Pandaria. The graphics, non-player characters, storyline, and quests are impressive. There are dashes of wisdom too. For example, after I picked up a quest, Master Windfur said, “May you find mastery in your passions.” Nice. In my role as Mage Lotus, I recently used that closer (with attribution to Windfur) in a message to Murr, an avatar in my game-based learning course called SuperPhi.

Murr is modeled on Spielberg’s E.T. She stumbled on Philand during her intergalactic travels; stranded here, her ultimate goal is to go home, but fortunately she’s agreed to help with the Phiers’ missions while waiting for rescue. The other avatars are humanoids. For example, there’s Catori, a member of the Hopi nation who has the power to use earth elements to heal; Amy, an optimistic…

View original post 372 more words

Tagged as: , , ,

Your thoughts?

“Tell me and I will forget, show me and I may remember, involve me and I will understand.” -------- Chinese Wisdom "Games are the most elevated form of investigation." -------- Albert Einstein
"I'm calling for investments in educational technology that will help create digital tutors that are as effective as personal tutors, educational software as compelling as the best video game," President Barack Obama said while touring a tech-focused Boston school (year 2011).
